Awarded to an individual who has established an outstanding mycological career. Nominees for the award will be evaluated on the basis of quality, originality, and quantity of their published research.

So far, the De Bary Medal was awarded to the following people:

  • 1996   JOHN CORNER: for lifetime achievement in mycological research, particularly, contributions to ecology and the systematics of wood-decaying basidiomycetes.
  • 1996   TERENCE INGOLD: for lifetime achievement in mycological research, particularly, contributions to our knowledge of fungal spore release and dispersal and the recognition of aquatic fungi as ecological specialists.
  • 2010   FRANZ OBERWINKLER: for lifetime achievment in mycological research, particularly, contrinutions to the systematics of basidiomycetes, biology of basidiolichenes and mycorrhizal fungi.
  • 2014   MEREDITH BLACKWELL: She is well known for her research on the diversity of beetle-associated fungi, but her most significant contribution may have been her initiation of the National Science Foundation (USA)-sponsored, Assembling the Fungal Tree of Life project that propelled evolutionary mycology for more than the past decade. 
  • 2014   ROBERT A. SAMSON: He may be best known for polyphasic systematics of Aspergillus and Penicillium, however, his breadth of mycological research is far greater than these two genera. For example, his text on food and airborne fungi (just one of his 41 books) is in its eighth edition, has sold more than 11,000 copies and has been translated into several Asian languages. 
  • 2018   SALOMON BARTNICKI-GARCIA: He has provided numerous contributions to the understanding of hyphal morphology and cell wall construction, two of the key features of fungal cells. The list of his publications shows the extensive productivity in his scientific carrier. He is a great example of perseverance and commitment.
  • 2018    JOHN W. TAYLOR: He is working on the evolution of fungi, including fungal phylogenetic relationships, the timing of deep fungal divergences, species recognition, speciation, ecology, and the maintenance of species. He was an early advocate of promoting fungal models in his work on Neurospora spp. and Coccidioides spp. (agents of Valley Fever). His numerous contributions are highly cited because of their general influence to the field of mycology.

General Requirements:

  • An individual may receive the same IMA Award only once.
  • Self nomination is not allowed.
  • Nominators must be members of the IMA.
  • Nominees who are not chosen for the prize, may be re-nominated for up to two additional terms (within the year limit linked to the specific award).

Next application deadline: March 15, 2024

Documents required (nomination folder should contain):

  1. A nominating letter, including a detailed evaluation of the nominee’s contributions to Mycology.
  2. A current curriculum vitae.

Notes: Awards consists of a certificate. The Committee may choose to make no award in a given year, if it is appropriate. Presentation of the awards will take place at the awards ceremony at the IMC meeting.